XRAY - Model racing cars

It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 09:16:53

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: throttle servo
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 16:38:21 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 09:04:03
Posts: 128
Location: Cyprus
I have two buggies. An xb8tq and a hyper 7. On the Xray I installed a JR9000T servo for steering and I have 3 more servos to use for throttle on the xb8 and throttle and steering for the hyper 7.
The servos are
ACE DS1313 Digital
12.5Kg (173 oz/in)
0.13s

JR Z590 Analog
85 oz/in
0.15 sec

and a hobao H-102 (Futaba S3305) Analog
124 oz-in (8.9 kg-cm)
0.20 sec (quite slow!!!)

I was thinking on using the z590 for throttle on the XB8
and for the Hyper the DS1313 for steering and the H-102 for throttle.
or
The DS1313 for throttle on the XB8
and for the hyper the Z590 for throttle and H-102 for steering.

However I dont see any advandage on using a digital servo on throttle.
I am using a 1600mah battery and using 2 digital servos i think will drain the battery pretty quick?!?!?

what do you think shoul i do?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 19:03:57 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 02:41:57
Posts: 244
Location: IL
i would put the digital servos in the buggy that you plan to race. i would actually take the 9000t and use it for your throttle and then use the ACE servo for the steering. this is just my opinion though. i run the 9000t for throttle and the 9000s for my steering. seems to work great for me and i have no trouble with my battery draining at all. usually charge it when i first get to the track and then run the 3 qualifiers (5 minutes each). then for safe measure i charge it again before my main.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 22:57:56 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 18:09:49
Posts: 281
180 booker wrote:
i would put the digital servos in the buggy that you plan to race. i would actually take the 9000t and use it for your throttle and then use the ACE servo for the steering. this is just my opinion though. i run the 9000t for throttle and the 9000s for my steering. seems to work great for me and i have no trouble with my battery draining at all. usually charge it when i first get to the track and then run the 3 qualifiers (5 minutes each). then for safe measure i charge it again before my main.


Do yourself a favour and sell the other servos and buy another ACE one. These are the superior servos many top drivers run just now!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 18:24:08 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 09:04:03
Posts: 128
Location: Cyprus
Andy Taylor wrote:
Do yourself a favour and sell the other servos and buy another ACE one. These are the superior servos many top drivers run just now!


Why what is wrong with the JR, futabas, hitec, ko propo, airtronic or any other brand high end servos?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 18:40:29 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 20:17:05
Posts: 877
Location: NYC
ignore the previous comment. it's directly out of topic and just confuses the person who started the topic obviously looking for help and not some useless one-liner. the servos you have are fine. it boils down to common logic. use the servo that best applies for the situation. some servos may have an advantage more than others but in general they all serve the same purpose. best advice is to ask the racers around your track esp. those driving with an Xray as they are always willing to help and always more than often give great tips and advice.

Please don't confuse this forum to the likes of rcuniverse. pointless comments that bring no merit to the topic are not needed and are considered a nuisance.

sllo, just don't forget to have fun.

:wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 13:24:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 09:04:03
Posts: 128
Location: Cyprus
Richmond, you are absolutly right.

I guess I will try what 180 booker said and see how it goes.

But please explain to me, why use a digital servo on the throttle/brake?
why is high speed, precision and high torque needed on throttle?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 15:52:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 02:41:57
Posts: 244
Location: IL
the torque is for the braking of the buggy so you will be able to get the full amount that you want with out it lagging from not having the power to hold it when you are braking. for the speed is because you want it to respond when you are on the trigger. no lag there also. this is just my thinking and am not a great driver in anyway. i just feel that this is the way i would want it. hope this makes sense. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 01:08:56 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 18:09:49
Posts: 281
sllo wrote:
Andy Taylor wrote:
Do yourself a favour and sell the other servos and buy another ACE one. These are the superior servos many top drivers run just now!


Why what is wrong with the JR, futabas, hitec, ko propo, airtronic or any other brand high end servos?
PM me and I will explain! I am not in the business of degrading people products but I know what my experience and that of so many others has been!


Last edited by Andy Taylor on Tue Feb 06, 2007 01:29:29, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 01:20:09 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 18:09:49
Posts: 281
Richmond wrote:
ignore the previous comment. it's directly out of topic and just confuses the person who started the topic obviously looking for help and not some useless one-liner. the servos you have are fine. it boils down to common logic. use the servo that best applies for the situation. some servos may have an advantage more than others but in general they all serve the same purpose. best advice is to ask the racers around your track esp. those driving with an Xray as they are always willing to help and always more than often give great tips and advice.

Please don't confuse this forum to the likes of rcuniverse. pointless comments that bring no merit to the topic are not needed and are considered a nuisance.

sllo, just don't forget to have fun.

:wink:


My comment was meant to help the guy out!

There is hardly any point in getting a bullet proof car like an Xray TQ if the radio gear is not up to the same punishment!


Having read the question again I concede the facts are he has two cars and wishes to use the best servo he has available for the throttle in the XB9. I missed that point

BUT the fact remains that we run two digital servos in our cars and having had major problems with servos for 3 years we have not had any last year! We do not suffer from high battery drain.

As for whether you need speed or torque that depends.

A Young lad in our club runs a bog standard car and some 8 quid bog standard servos and has made the last two A finals. (not something I would contemplate)(running bog standard servos)

I guessed the guy was aiming high by buying and Xray buggy!

hope that clarifies my comments!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 01:27:20 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 18:09:49
Posts: 281
sllo wrote:
Richmond, you are absolutly right.

I guess I will try what 180 booker said and see how it goes.

But please explain to me, why use a digital servo on the throttle/brake?
why is high speed, precision and high torque needed on throttle?

thanks


As 190 booker says Torque is needed for brakes. however IF the braking system is more than adequate and set up correctly my prefered option would be to use the 1013 on the steering as suggested.
The problem of running some digital servos (not ace) on the throttle is they dont like being stalled...ie what the brake action does.

It also depends on what track you run on as more steering torque might be better on a bumpy track to hold straight lines. high grip like grass might need more torque for steering!

But it not use going into a corner with mega steering if you cant slow down to use it! (and then grip roll)

Is that better for you??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle servo
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 14:05:26 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 13:57:58
Posts: 1
What is this picture of? I have seen this picture quite a lot, and I still don't understand. My mates are playing online casino at https://lowdepositcasino.com/ website, so I can't contact them right now. You are the only one who can help me with this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle servo
PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 00:22:53 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 00:08:03
Posts: 1
I think the steering won't work properly for you, because you haven't attached it the right way. People working for the https://acidcow.com/pics/110095-tips-an ... nment.html website have asked me about a similar problem, and their issue was with the steering wheel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle servo
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 17:54:10 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 20:00:48
Posts: 11
I want to know what is the price that you are asking for the Hyper 7. I work for http://kasinopelit.blogspot.com/2019/09 ... oilla.html , and I have the money to buy this buggy. Let me know your price as soon as possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: throttle servo
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 18:30:42 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 18:25:15
Posts: 1
These are assigned to automatically determined position feedback voltages. Teaching the idle and full throttle position makes it possible to replace a throttle valve servo or a throttle-servo unit without the need to reconfigure the engine control unit. powering down the current consumption in the blocked state.

Now let's get to the meat of the question; selecting a throttle servo for gassers - and also - whether you can use a mini instead of a standard-size servo.

First, it's important to understand the servo doesn't know (or care) what use you're making of it. E.g. whether it's function is controlling the throttle, elevator, or rudder - it simply doesn't matter. All it 'knows' is the pulse width. Does this mean you can use a mini instead of a standard size servo? Yes, absolutely. The real question is . . . should you? The answer is - it depends.

Here's the rub with a servo, any servo - ours, or another manufacturer's. For some reason there is a fondness amongst giant scale modelers for placing the servo directly on the engine box - and - connecting it to the carburetor with a short straight steel linkage rod. This is bad for two reasons.

Some internet expert always brings up expansion/contraction of a Gold-N-Rod as a reason to not use it. As if steel doesn't expand and contract also, duh! Anyway, this is totally a non-issue, believe me. Remember, when dealing with a paint shaker of a gasser engine, the goal is to attenuate vibration and your servo will live a long life regardless of whether it's a standard size or mini.

Hope you like and understood this information for more interesting information reagarding latest technology, digital-world, life-style click on following links:-
McAfee.com/Activate | Office.com/Setup | www.office.com/setup | www.mcafee.com/activate


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group